What You Were - Michael Gira - Solo Recordings At Home (CD, Album)

Hidden categories: Articles with short description Short description is different from Wikidata Articles with hAudio microformats Album articles lacking alt text for covers. Namespaces Article Talk. Views Read Edit View history. Help Learn to edit Community portal Recent changes Upload file. Download as PDF Printable version. Add links. What We Did Granada Theater. Mohawk - Outdoor. Regent Theater. The Fillmore. Aladdin Theater. Neptune Theatre. Varsity Theater. Thalia Hall. The Opera House.

Le National. Paradise Rock Club presented by Citizens Bank. Underground Arts. El Club. EartH Evolutionary Arts Hackney. Ancienne Belgique, AB Ballroom. Le Trabendo. Festsaal Kreuzberg. Nalen Stora Salen. Kesselhaus in der Kulturbrauerei.

Sala Apolo. Sala But. Hard Club. Children of God Remaster. Carl go to album. On Bandcamp Radio. Unsurprisingly, such releases demonstrate, as much as his more well-known band efforts, Gira's skill and power at creating emotionally intense music and lyrics. Issued in , Drainland was his official solo debut, though even it was described as "Swans Related Product," and was consciously put out as a complement to his longtime collaborator and partner Jarboe's own solo album, Sacrificial Cake.

Billed as "Michael Gira with Guests," a limited-edition live recording from early was done specifically as a benefit to assist Jarboe with her medical bills from a disease picked up on a trip to Israel the previous year. Near the end of the 20th century, Gira also took complete control of his musical destiny by founding his Young God Records label.

He has personally overseen all decisions regarding production, distribution, and promotion. The new century saw Gira issue the spoken word offering Somniloquist.

This was followed by a solo recording entitled merely Solo Recordings from Home. The album contained solo demos, CD-R-only recordings, and Angels of Light outtakes from earlier sessions as well as two new tracks. Gira's website claimed it would not be made available in any other format.

Thursday 7 May Friday 8 May Saturday 9 May Sunday 10 May Monday 11 May Tuesday 12 May Wednesday 13 May Thursday 14 May Friday 15 May Saturday 16 May Sunday 17 May Monday 18 May Tuesday 19 May Wednesday 20 May Thursday 21 May Friday 22 May Saturday 23 May Sunday 24 May Monday 25 May Tuesday 26 May Wednesday 27 May Thursday 28 May Friday 29 May Saturday 30 May Sunday 31 May Monday 1 June Tuesday 2 June Thursday 4 June Friday 5 June Saturday 6 June Sunday 7 June Monday 8 June Tuesday 9 June Monday 15 June Tuesday 16 June Wednesday 17 June Friday 19 June Saturday 20 June Sunday 21 June Monday 22 June Tuesday 23 June Wednesday 24 June Thursday 25 June Friday 26 June Saturday 27 June Sunday 28 June Monday 29 June Tuesday 30 June Wednesday 1 July Thursday 2 July Friday 3 July Saturday 4 July Sunday 5 July Monday 6 July

7. Michael Gira: «Kosinsky» From Solo Recordings at Home () A perpetually underappreciated artist, Gira needs to come up with schemes to finance his rather extravagant recordings under The Angels Of Light moniker. In , he released a limited edition CD of home recordings, the proceeds of which would go to recording many of these songs.

8 Replies to “What You Were - Michael Gira - Solo Recordings At Home (CD, Album)”

  1. Solo Recordings at Home is the fourth studio album by American singer-songwriter and musician Michael lirichildbagcalot.smutuatiminincolthuadyrocirrrighces.co was released in through Gira's own record label, Young God Records. The album features Gira's home recordings.. The unreleased track from the home recording sessions were included in the album The Milk of M. Gira: Selected Solo Home Recordings , released in Label: Young God.
  2. Listen free to Michael Gira – Solo Recordings at Home (What You Were, All Souls Rising and more). 13 tracks (). Discover more music, concerts, videos, .
  3. Apr 04,  · Compilation of tracks from "Solo Recordings At Home", "I Am Singing To You From My Room" and "I Am Not Insane". Sold at / Swans concerts. Limited and numbered. Disc comes in a handmade print using a wood cut and custom design by Gira. A lyric sheet is included/5(18).
  4. Sep 11,  · Solo Recordings at Home, an Album by Michael Gira. Released in on Young God. Genres: Contemporary Folk, Singer/Songwriter/5(74).
  5. American musician, producer, composer, author, and artist, born 19 February in Los Angeles, California, USA. He became known via his band lirichildbagcalot.smutuatiminincolthuadyrocirrrighces.co he founded Young God Records which released Swans music and other projects. He also produced or .
  6. Michael Gira – Solo Recordings At Home Michael Gira – I Am Singing to You From My Room Michael Gira – Songs For a Dog Michael Gira – I Am Not Insane (CD/DVD) Also of note were these items. posting here for sentimental reasons!: Angels of Light – We Were Alive Michael Gira – I Am Not Insane (folio of drawings) My Best.
  7. Michael Gira is known for using a Guild antique burst electro acoustic guitar, and a Roland JC Jazz Chorus Guitar Amplifier during his solo concerts. With Swans, Gira has used a variety of instruments including Ovation acoustic guitars and a Westbury Track II bass guitar during early performances.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *