Love Is A Hurtin Thing - Lou Rawls - Soulin (Vinyl, LP, Album)

View full lyrics. Don't want to see ads? Upgrade Now. Scrobbling is when Last. Learn more. Javascript is required to view shouts on this page. Go directly to shout page. View full artist profile. View all similar artists. View all trending tracks. Loading player…. Scrobble from Spotify? Connect to Spotify Dismiss. Search Search. Play album. Length Related Tags soul blues Add tags View all tags. From The Album Play album. Greatest Hits Lou Rawls 21, listeners. For every little kiss there's a little teardrop For every single thrill there's another heartache The road is rough The going gets tough Yes love is… View full lyrics.

Play track. Artist images 8 more. He was known for his smooth vocal style: Frank Sinatra once said that Rawls had "the classiest singing and silkiest chops in the singing game". Rawls released more than 70 albums, sold more than 40 million records, appeared as an actor in motion pictures and on television, and voiced-over many cartoons. He had been called "The Funkiest Man Alive". Lou Rawls, who learned of gospel music through his grandmother in… read more.

He was known for his smooth vocal … read more. He was known for his smooth vocal style: Frank Sinatra once said that Rawls had … read more. Similar Artists Play all.

Trending Tracks 1. Features Exploring the local sounds and scenes at Noise Pop Fest. Albums of the latest and loved, and the ones to look out for discover By okspud1 15 Feb am. Friday 27 March Saturday 28 March Monday 30 March Tuesday 31 March Wednesday 1 April Thursday 2 April Friday 3 April Saturday 4 April Sunday 5 April Monday 6 April Tuesday 7 April Wednesday 8 April Thursday 9 April Friday 10 April Saturday 11 April Sunday 12 April Monday 13 April Tuesday 14 April Wednesday 15 April Friday 17 April Saturday 18 April Sunday 19 April Monday 20 April Tuesday 21 April Wednesday 22 April Thursday 23 April Friday 24 April Saturday 25 April Sunday 26 April Monday 27 April Tuesday 28 April Wednesday 29 April Thursday 30 April Friday 1 May Saturday 2 May Sunday 3 May Monday 4 May Tuesday 5 May In January , Rawls was honored by the United Negro College Fund for his more than 25 years of charity work with the organization.

Instead of hosting and performing as he usually did, Rawls was given the seat of honor and celebrated by his performing colleagues, including Stevie Wonder , The O'Jays , Gerald Levert , and Ashanti.

The following is a list of Rawls singles that made the top 50 on the Billboard Hot From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Lou Rawls. This section needs additional citations for verification. Please help improve this article by adding citations to reliable sources. Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. February Learn how and when to remove this template message.

Soul is truth Kennedy Center. Archived from the original on November 29, Retrieved April 28, Retrieved 18 February Little, Brown and Company. Pop Chronicles. University of North Texas Libraries. Los Angeles Times. The New York Times. Retrieved April 19, Retrieved 27 October The Book of Golden Discs 2nd ed.

London: Barrie and Jenkins Ltd. Top Pop Singles 1st ed. Rawls didn't write "Tobacco Road"-it was written by John D. Loudermilk , who recorded it in as a country blues song. Loudermilk, a white man, wrote it about his life growing up poor near the tobacco fields of North Carolina. But Rawls turned it into a soul blues song, and an anthem for black poverty in America. That song later became a signature staple of Rawls's live sets. In the mid s, Capitol Records began experimenting with Lou Rawls's sound.

One direction they took him in was towards an electric, Chicago blues sound, in the style of Freddie King, Otis Rush, or B. His album Carryin' On featured him with a basic blues band of electric guitars, piano, bass and drums.

Rawls, as always, easily adapts to the style. Lou Rawls' next big collaborator in the s was arranger H. Barnum was younger than Rawls, but had more experience in show business than him, as a singer, songwriter, arranger, and former child actor. It was a lean and versatile ensemble that could slide between genres easily, much like Rawls himself. The two worked together on the albums Soulin' in and Too Much in The album truly highlights his excellence as a performer and was a triumph for the singer when it was released, earning lots of radio play.

Lou Rawls Live!

"Love Is a Hurtin' Thing" is a pop/soul single by Lou Rawls and was written by Ben Raleigh () & Dave Linden (pseudonym used by David J. Luff) The single was his second entry on the R&B singles chart as well as his first Top 40 hit on the Billboard Hot pop chart. "Love Is a Hurtin' Thing" was the first of two Lou Rawls singles to make it to number one on the R&B chart.

9 Replies to “Love Is A Hurtin Thing - Lou Rawls - Soulin (Vinyl, LP, Album)”

  1. Apr 27,  · View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Specialty Pressing Vinyl release of Soulin' on Discogs. Label: Capitol Records - ST • Format: Vinyl LP, Album, Stereo Specialty Pressing • Country: US • Genre: Funk / Soul • Style: Soul/5(54).
  2. View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Soulin' on Discogs. Label: Capitol Records - SM • Format: Vinyl LP, Album, Reissue • Country: US • Genre: Funk / Soul • Style: Soul/5(12).
  3. Apr 27,  · Discover releases, reviews, credits, songs, and more about Lou Rawls - Soulin' at Discogs. Shop Vinyl and CDs and complete your Lou Rawls collection.4/5().
  4. This cd is a remake of his classic album Soulin'. It includes the tune that put him on the mainstream map, "Love Is A hurtin' Thing". It's a great song and was the reason I first purchased this album around But as good as the hit record is I immediately fell in love with the "B" side/5(25).
  5. UK/Europe released 25 August - "Soulin'" by LOU RAWLS on Universal Spain/Capitol/Elemental Music (Barcode ) is a straightforward CD Remaster of the track STEREO LP originally on Capital Records and plays out as follows ( minutes): 1. A Whole Lotta Woman 2. Love Is A Hurtin' Thing 3. So Hard To Laugh, So Easy /5(12).
  6. Get the best deals on Lou Rawls In Vinyl Records when you shop the largest online selection at lirichildbagcalot.smutuatiminincolthuadyrocirrrighces.co Free shipping on many items Lou Rawls Love is a Hurtin' Thing / Memory Lane 45 Capitol $ $ shipping. Watch. Lou Rawls ‎- The Best Of Lou Rawls - Vinyl LP Record Album. $ +$ shipping.
  7. Lou Rawls ‎– Soulin'. Written-By –John Anderson,Lou Rawls, Jr.. Funk / Soul. Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo,Specialty Pressing. Love Is A Hurtin' Thing. § Edit Seller Rating: % positive.
  8. Jan 30,  · Lou Rawls ‎– Soulin' Label: Capitol Records ‎– SM Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue Country: US Released: Genre: Funk / Soul Style: Soul Tracklist A1 A Whole Lotta Woman A2 Love.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *